Project Description

In January 2013 city2science was appointed by the European Science Events Association to work as a Project Officer for PLACES.

PLACES – Platform of Local Authorities and Communicators Engaged in Science – was one of the largest FP7 science in society projects, funded by the EC until May 2014. The project goal was to initiate and develop an integrated common concept of science-society collaborations in European cities. Looking for a model of the “European City of Scientific Culture” the project concentrated on the development and reinforcement of strategic partnerships between decision makers from cities, universities and scientific institutions.

Within a funding-period of four years, 67 scientific centres, museums, festivals and events from 27 countries cooperated with local authorities and European regional networks. The project intended to improve the collaboration between these alliances and to structure their science communication including a joint usage of ressources and successful best-practice-examples. For this purpose workgroup meetings and conferences were organised and an internet platform was established. Members of the platform experiment with new communication approaches and participation formats and promoted a new awareness of “science culture” for local/regional politicians in the respective cities.

In the course of the project a common model of the European “City of Scientific Culture” was developed, which allows to derive recommendations for actors on the European level. The topics for local alliances depended on the particular situations of the cities; they could e.g. concern the topics of health, environment, demographic change, waste management, public transport, youth or poverty. The basis for the interaction of the local actors on the particular topics was a so called “Local Action Plan”, which defined and organized sustainable cooperation-processes on a long term. “Pilot Activities” put the topics of the “Local Action Plans” into practice in the local settings.

For further information see www.openplaces.eu.

Projektbeschreibung

Von Januar 2013 bis März 2014 war city2science als Projektbüro für das EU-Projekt PLACES tätig.

PLACES war von Juni 2010 bis Mai 2014 eines der größten “Science in Society”-Projekte der Europäischen Union. Ziel der Initiative PLACES war, europaweit kooperative Strategien für eine “Wissenschaftskultur” in europäischen Städten zu entwickeln. Auf der Suche nach einem Modell der „European City of Scientific Culture“ unterstützte das Projekt strategischer Partnerschaften zwischen Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträgern aus Städten, Hochschulen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in Europa.

Insgesamt 67 wissenschaftliche Zentren, Science Museen und Science Festivals aus 27 Ländern kooperierten im Rahmen von PLACES mit lokalen Behörden und europäischen regionalen Netzwerken. Das Projekt sollte die Zusammenarbeit zwischen diesen Allianzen verbessern und deren Wissenschaftskommunikation u.a. durch eine gemeinsame Nutzung von Ressourcen und erfolgreiche Praxisbeispiele strukturieren. Hierzu wurden Arbeitsgruppentreffen und Konferenzen organisiert sowie eine Internet- Plattform aufgebaut. Die Mitglieder der Plattform experimentierten mit neuen Kommunikationsansätzen und Beteiligungsformaten und förderten ein neues Bewusstsein für die „Wissenschaftskultur“ der jeweiligen Städte bei lokalen/regionalen Politikerinnen und Politikern.

Die Themen für lokale Allianzen hingen von der jeweiligen Ausgangslage der Städte ab; sie betrafen Themen wie Gesundheit, Umwelt, Demographischer Wandel, Abfallentsorgung, Verkehr, Jugend oder Armut. Grundlage für die Interaktion der lokalen Akteurinnen und Akteure war ein sog. „Local Action Plan“, in dem die individuellen Interaktionswege und Ansprechpartnerinnen und Ansprechpartner vor Ort beschrieben und ihre Zusammenarbeit langfristig angelegt wurde. Die sog. „Pilot Activities“ setzten die jeweiligen Themen der „Local Action Plans“ gemeinsam mit Bürgerinnen und Bürgern in konkreten öffentlichkeitswirksamen Projekten um. Zum Projektabschluss wurde mit der sog. „PLACES Declaration“ in Bremen ein gemeinsames Modell der europäischen “City of Scientific Culture“ präsentiert, aus dem sich u.a. Empfehlungen Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger auf europäischer Ebene ableiten lassen.